2014 Eisner Winners Include Indie, Online Artists

Featured Image

For decades, the Eisner Awards - named for comics legend Will Eisner - have been presented during San Diego Comic-Con to worthy artists, writers, and other industry participants.

This year’s list of winners boasts ample representation from smaller publishers and concerns. The entire list follows, along with some commentary on some of our own favorites. How did these square with your favorites from 2013?

  • Best Lettering — Darwyn Cooke, Richard Stark’s Parker: Slayground (IDW)
  • Best Coloring — Jordie Bellaire, The Manhattan Projects, Nowhere Men, Pretty Deadly, Zero (Image); The Massive (Dark Horse); Tom Strong (DC); X-Files Season 10 (IDW); Captain Marvel, Journey into Mystery (Marvel); Numbercruncher (Titan); Quantum and Woody (Valiant). (Raising the question: how many books didn’t she color? This is a massive output!)
  • Best Digital/Webcomic —  The Oatmeal by Matthew Inman. One of our favorites! Check it out.
  • Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 7)Itty Bitty Hellboy, by Art Baltazar and Franco (Dark Horse).
  • Best Publication for Kids (ages 8-12)The Adventures of Superhero Girl, by Faith Erin Hicks (Dark Horse). Hicks’ art is just gorgeous; we’re anticipating more of these awards.
  • Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17) — Battling Boy, by Paul Pope (First Second). One of our favorites last year as well, despite our advanced, decidedly older than 13-17 status.
  • Best Penciller/Inker – Sean Murphy, The Wake (DC/Vertigo)
  • Best Publication Design – Genius, Illustrated: The Life and Art of Alex Toth, designed by Dean Mullaney (LOAC/IDW)
  • Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art) – Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)
  • Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism – Comic Book Resources, produced by Jonah Weiland.
  • Best Comics-Related Book – Genius, Illustrated: The Life and Art of Alex Toth, by Dean Mullaney and Bruce Canwell (LOAC/IDW)
  • Best Scholarly/Academic Work – Black Comics: Politics of Race and Representation, edited by Sheena C. Howard and Ronald L. Jackson II (Bloomsbury)
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips – Tarzan: The Complete Russ Manning Newspaper Strips, vol. 1, edited by Dean Mullaney (LOAC/IDW)
  • Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books Will Eisner’s The Spirit Artist’s Edition, edited by Scott Dunbier and spotlighting the man for whom these very awards are named.
  • Best Humor Publication – Vader’s Little Princess, by Jeffrey Brown (Chronicle). Yes, humorous comics based on Star Wars mythos. Different than this kind of Star Wars humor. Way funnier, actually.
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material – Goddam This War! by Jacques Tardi and Jean-Pierre Verney (Fantagraphics)
  • Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia – The Mysterious Underground Men, by Osamu Tezuka (PictureBox)
  • Best Adaptation from Another Medium – Richard Stark’s Parker: Slayground, by Donald Westlake, adapted by Darwyn Cooke (IDW)
  • Best Writer – Brian K. Vaughan, Saga (Image)
  • Best Writer/Artist – Jaime Hernandez, Love and Rockets New Stories #6 (Fantagraphics). Dear art, writing, and culture fans — if you don’t know Los Bros. Hernandez’s work, start picking it up now now now. Out of sequence if just fine, because art.
  • Best Cover Artist  David Aja, Hawkeye (Marvel). Well deserved. Aja’s covers are iconic.
  • Best Short Story – “Untitled,” by Gilbert Hernandez, in Love and Rockets: New Stories #6 (Fantagraphics). (See our note about Los Bros. Hernandez, two bullets up).
  • Best Single Issue (or One-Shot) – Hawkeye #11: “Pizza Is My Business,” by Matt Fraction and David Aja (Marvel)
  • Best Anthology – Dark Horse Presents, edited by Mike Richardson (Dark Horse)
  • Best New Series – Sex Criminals, by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky (Image)
  • Best Limited Series – The Wake, by Scott Snyder and Sean Murphy (Vertigo/DC)
  • Best Continuing Series —  Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image). Okay, that’s three Saga-based awards now. Are you reading Saga yet? Get on it!
  • Best Graphic Album—Reprint – RASL, by Jeff Smith (Cartoon Books). The follow-up from the creator of mega-success Bone, but for a more mature audience.
  • Best Reality-Based Work – The Fifth Beatle: The Brian Epstein Story, by Vivek J. Tiwary, Andrew C. Robinson, and Kyle Baker (M Press/Dark Horse)
  • Best Graphic Album—New – The Property, by Rutu Modan (Drawn & Quarterly)

Congratulations to all the winners!

Image: Comic-Con International: San Diego

Recent Articles